Mountzouris

The legendary train of Pelion, known as Mountzouris, starts from Volos and ends on Milies covering a total distance of 29 kilometers. Today, the railway is one of the most famous tourist attractions in the area because it is unique in an environment of natural beauty.

The construction of the station began in 1895 and was completed eight years later. The railway route is a journey through spectacular landscapes, picturesque villages and the impressive metal bridge De Chirico. The main features of the construction is the manual rotation of the engine of the train in the station of Milies and the narrow railway track. The railroad operated nonstop until 1971 contributing significantly to the economic and commercial prosperity of the villages of Pelion. After a pause of 25 years, Mountzouris reopened contributing this time in the tourist development of the villages. Today, the train operates the route of Ano Lechonia to Milies, mainly on weekends and on holidays during the winter months and on a daily basis during the summer months.


Scroll to top